Yes! Kudos is flexible and can be used with or without points. Turning off points will make it so users are unable to send points to any other user. You can turn off points in two ways.
Account > Customize > Giving Kudos
From here, un-check the Points box and hit Save.
User Admin > Titles & Points
Just scroll to the bottom of the list of Titles and look for the Turn Points OFF button at the bottom right.
NOTE: If points are already off, the tab at the top of the User Admin screen will say Titles instead of Titles & Points.
After turning points off, users will still be able to give unlimited Kudos recognition to anyone, but these messages will never include points. The system will be stripped of all Kudos points, which can be recovered by turning points back on. To turn points back on, simply use either of the above two methods for turning them off, but do the opposite. If you want some users but not others to be able to send Kudos points with their messages, be sure to leave points on. You can then set specific Job Titles to zero points, or set individual users to zero points.
We hope this helps! If you have any questions, please post a comment below and one of our friendly team members will be happy to assist you.